South Berwick Bicentennial
Those looking forward to the town’s upcoming bicentennial can now get a jump on the observances with a new 2014 desktop calendar created by the Old Berwick Historical Society.
Thirteen color photos – each annotated with an historic date – adorn the new calendar, which measures four by eight inches, small enough for a desk.
Available in limited quantities, the calendar is sold at South Berwick Pharmacy. The price of $10 helps support historic programs offered by the society, including an upcoming lecture series focused on South Berwick history.
Photos capture the spirit of the seasons, with skiing at Powderhouse Hill, a snow-covered Hamilton House, and frost at Old Fields Burying Ground depicting winter months. Spring shows Berwick Academy’s daffodils, a cyclist in the village, and cows grazing at Emery’s Bridge Road.
Kayaks at the Salmon Falls River, a farm on Oldfields Road, and Vaughan Woods comprise the summer pictures, with autumn views of Jewett House, the soldiers’ monument and the Counting House rounding out the year.
Historic dates are noted for each of the sites depicted.
On February 12, 1814, South Berwick became a separate town in the Province of Maine. Also noted on the calendar are dates for the Old Berwick Historical Society lectures, which in 2014 will include topics touching on South Berwick’s rich history.